Arrested? Call (888) 259-6838 Now for a Free Iowa Criminal Defense Consultation. No Obligation!
Gun and weapons law violations in Iowa are taken very seriously. If you are facing a weapons charge, you have every right to be very concerned about the potential outcome.
Although we are all guaranteed the right to bear arms by the 2nd Amendment of the Bill of Rights, that right is not without restrictions. In fact, there are literally hundreds of laws and rules regarding the owning, handling, and use of firearms.Charged with a crime in Iowa? Please call (888) 259-6838.
Committing a crime with a gun, or using or carrying a weapon in when you are not legally permitted to do so is a serious legal situation.
Please contact our attorneys for a consultation on any criminal weapons offense in Iowa.
Iowa Carrying Weapons – Laws & Penalties
In most cases, unless you have a permit, it is against the law to carry a weapon, whether concealed or not. This weapon can be any kind of gun or firearm or even a knife. If you are charged with criminal carrying of a weapon, you will typically face aggravated misdemeanor charges.
An aggravated misdemeanor of this nature carries a potential sentence of up to 2 year in jail and $6250 in fines.
There are many potential defenses to this crime and together we can determine if any of them apply to your case. If there is a mistake or misunderstanding, and no harm was done, we can work to put this legal problem behind you with minimum damage.
Ref: IA. St. §724.4
Offensive Weapons Laws
Despite that 2nd Amendment right, there are certain weapons that prohibited in Iowa. Certain types of dangerous guns and explosives are considered offensive weapons, and are banned. Listed here are some of those weapons that could get you an “offensive weapons” charge.
- Machine guns
- Short barreled rifles or shotguns (sawed off)
- Ballistic knives
- explosives containing gas
- Parts of these weapons used for assembling
Unauthorized possession of an offensive weapon is considered a Class D felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and $7,500 in fines.
Ref: IA. St. §724.1
Possession of a Firearm by a Felon
Once you have been convicted of a felony, you lose your right to carry a firearm. If you are a convicted felony and found to be in possession of, receiving, or transporting any firearm or offensive weapon, you can be charged with a Class D felony and face up to 5 years in prison and $7500 in fines.
Ref: IA. St. §724.26
Free Case Evaluation on Criminal Iowa Weapons Charges
Weapons charges should not be taken lightly. Chances are the courts won’t take them lightly. Going into a case like this, you want to be confident you are prepared to face what is coming, and confident in your choice of defense attorneys.
Contact us to talk about your case and for some free legal advice.