Driving on a Suspended License
When your license is suspended, life is a whole lot more complicated. Most people have a very difficult time getting by without the freedom to drive.
Unfortunately, if your license is under suspension, it is a criminal offense to be caught driving. If you been arrested for driving on a suspended license (or received a criminal citation), you are likely about to face even more complications.
Your driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. It can be temporarily restricted; allowing you only certain times or destinations, or it can be revoked permanently. Regardless of why it was suspended, dealing with the loss of your license can be more stressful than most people imagine.
And it is very possible for your license to be suspended without you even knowing about it! You may have had a few moving violations that resulted in a suspension, but weren’t even notified by the DMV.
Unfortunately, you’ve still got to appear in criminal court and convince a judge that your mistake was not intentional, and that isn’t always easy. You need a criminal defense attorney to guide you through this process, and make sure you present the best case possible to try to save your license, and avoid a criminal conviction.
Whatever happened, if you had emergency circumstances, or were simply not aware of the suspended license, we may be able to work something out with the courts. Perhaps you had no choice but to get behind the wheel that day.
Our defense lawyers have handled many cases of driving on a suspended license. We know what you are up against and know what it will take to fix this problem.
Contact us for a free legal case evaluation.
Here are just some of the reasons you can lose your license:
- Violation of a protection order
- drug offenses
- Traffic offenses
- Hit & Run
Once your license has been suspended you are not allowed to drive, at all.
Iowa Driving on Suspended License – Laws & Penalties
Driving on a suspended, revoked, or restricted license is typically a simple misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of at least $250.
In addition to fines and potential jail time, your period of suspension may be extended by the same amount of your original suspension.
Ref: IA. St. §321.218
Contact us for a Free consultation on your Suspended License Criminal Charge in Iowa
The thought of losing your license for an even greater amount of time can feel extremely disheartening. It is hard to know where to turn when you feel like you have ran out of options.
As your defense lawyer we will work tirelessly to ensure every option is explored in your case. We want you to walk away with the best results possible given the circumstances of your case.
Contact us immediately so that we can get started. Find out exactly what we can do to help. No obligation for the advice. Orlando Arcia Authentic Jersey